How to be 2015 compliant – we have the final decision on what will be accepted

8 October 2014 in Classroom Training, Instructor

Zemanta Related Posts ThumbnailFurther to our recent email regarding the PTLLS qualification, after raising questions regarding contradictory information, we have received written confirmation about the tutor/assessing qualifications needed to independently teach and assess the First Aid at Work and Emergency First Aid at Work courses. These rules are laid down by the HSE and Skills for Health which must be followed.

Please note that this applies to all FAW and EFAW courses not only the regulated options and it does not come into force until October 2015.

All tutors who hold either PTLLS Level 3 or PTLLS Level 4 (6 or 12 credits) will need to completed the qualification below as a minimum after October 2015 if they want to continue to teach FAW or EFAW courses.

  • Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment

Any tutors who already hold an Assessor Qualification listed below do not need to complete the above unit.

  • A1 (D32 /D33) or A2 (D32)
  • Level 3 Award in Vocationally Related Achievement
  • Level 3 Certificate in Vocationally Related Achievement
  • ENB998 or Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Workplace
  • Regulated qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 9 Assess Learner AchievementSQA Carryout the assessment process
  • MPP (Mentorship preparation Program)

Tutors who hold any of the train the trainer qualifications below do not need to obtain an assessor qualification.

  • Level 3 Award in Education and Training
  • Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training
  • Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training
  • CertEd / PGCE or CTLLS/DTLLS
  • Further and Adult Education Teacher’s certificate
  • IHCD Instructional Methods / IHCD Instructional Certificate
  • TQFES/NVQ Level 3 and 4 in Training and Development
  • Nursing mentorship qualifications or NOCN Tutor/Assessor Award

This document is based on information provided at this time.

For those of you who need to gain the additional unit, the easiest option is to complete the unit one module online.  This is available as a 100% online course through ITG Instructor Training and results in the regulated qualification of HABC Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (QCF).  This is the first module of the full Level 3 Award in Assessing.

We have a special price of £95.00 + VAT to complete this unit for registered and active ProTrainings Instructors saving £100 from the usual price of £195.00 + VAT. To book, call 01206 805380.

4 responses to How to be 2015 compliant – we have the final decision on what will be accepted

  1. Yet more legislation… seems like we were the last group to do PTLLS level 3 and were assured that we would be ok with the new regulations but this has proved not the case.More expense and time…..we only did the course in January but reading some background information PTLLS was out of vogue in September 2013 so why was the course still being run in January 2014?

    • It was first thought that a 12 credit PTLLS was enough for the HSE and Skills for Health guidelines but only in October 2014 that the clarification was said that this is not enough. No qualification will assure that you do not need to do anther course as rules change and they also use these changes to encourage CPD.

  2. I assume a BEd (Honours) is also accepted?!

Skip to toolbar